top of page
  • Writer's pictureVanessa Mercedes

Love West Africa

I have lived in Paris, France for nearly two years.

One of the best things about living abroad is getting to see and experience new things.


I have learned so much about different cultures in my time here...one of which being African culture.


There are so many Africans living in Paris. The culture they bring to the city is gorgeous and I have admired it since the very first day I moved here.


It has been great trying food, attending events and hanging out in African quarters...the culture of West Africa is vibrant, welcoming and full of fun. Dating a Ghanaian-French, I have been so open to learning about the joyful culture of West Africa.


I recently came across a brand called Maison Chateau Rouge.

Their fun African identity got my attention immediately. After visiting their Paris store - 18 bis rue myrha 75018, I fell in love with the brand even more.


I learned that the brand started in 2014 as an initiative of two Senegalese-French brothers who wanted to raise money to help kick-start artisans in Senegal. The twist of traditional and funky new prints got a buzz and turned out a success for the two.


The brand is now a total favorite of mine. I am glad to see their success continue. They have recently collaborated with a large French retailer Monoprix.


Their vibrancy and joy-of-life attitude inspired an assignment I recently had for my Media & Advertising course. I asked my boyfriend to wear his traditional print from Ghana.


I am continuously learning about West African culture and it has been gorgeous every step of the way. It has inspired me to work with brands with similar values initiatives in the future.


Vanessa Mercedes. xo

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page