top of page
  • Writer's pictureVanessa Mercedes

Time Travel in St. Ouen

Since a very young age, my love for secondhand/vintage clothing has been deep.


I loved when my grandmother and mother would pull out bags of 'handy-downs'. The clothing I would find in these bags of old clothing always told a story of a different time.

I believe that is what is so beautiful about secondhand and vintage pieces...they once belonged to someone else.


As I reached my teenage years, I became obsessed with all the flea markets that Los Angeles has to offer: Melrose Trading Post (an upcoming article), Rose Bowl Flea Market, etc. I was an avid visitor. These places exposed me to retro styles at a much higher quality than our production standards allow today.


It became clearer to me that aside from just the beauty of vintage, secondhand shopping is also a greener way to go.


Paris, France is a wonderful city with a huge fashion culture.

However, the style here is very luxurious that at times I feel like there is not enough options for vintage lovers like myself.


So I did some research and found that there is a huge community of antique, vintage & retro shops and flea markets, right outside of Paris at St. Ouen (Les Puces de Saint Ouen).


I went over there immediately.


I fell in love instantly. It was like time-traveling.


The community. The people. The shops. The clothes. The art.



It was like stepping into a different era for the day.


This flea market is of my highest recommendation for everyone. Whether or not you love vintage...it is a must-see. You will not regret the cultural experience you gain from visiting.

Consider it a half-day trip.


Vanessa Mercedes. xo

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page