top of page
  • Writer's pictureVanessa Mercedes

My Favorite Tattoo

Updated: May 29, 2018

I got my first tattoo two years ago.

I got two tattoos on the same day. I got a crescent moon and a pair of stars on the sides of my wrists. I love these tattoos so much as they have deep meanings behind them...


But my favorite tattoo I got in July of 2017.



It reads "Entre Tus manos confio mi ser"...

Which translates to: "In Your hands, I trust my being".


The Spanish quote comes from a song I sang in church all throughout my childhood. Once I grew older is when I truly began to understand what it meant.


My original Instagram caption:



 

Psalm 25:2
A song of David.
25 Lord, I put my life in your hands. I trust in you, my God, and I will not be disappointed.

In 2016, I had to make a choice.

As you may have read in my testimony in an earlier article, I had recently moved to France, I faced depression and I came to a crossroads where I desperately wanted to meet God.


It was a process for me to get there.

I had certain shames, secrets and problems that I tried to hide from God.

My faith was then limited...I had trouble letting go of my life in its entirety to God.


I tried to assign certain areas of my life over to Him...such as my education and family.

However, I hid the darker areas.


This held me back in my faith a lot..


The more I surrounded myself in the church and spent time reading the Bible...I came to understand that in order to gain the free and abundant life God had waiting for me, I had to surrender everything over to Him. 100%.


And so I did. It took everything in me...but I did.


And the blessing began pouring in to my life. I began to know Him more and more.

It was the best most rewarding decision I ever made.


I got this tattoo on my left arm to remind me every single day that my life is in God's hands.

In a crazy, busy world we can sometimes lose focus on God's plan for our lives.


Sometimes, one of my biggest struggles is to remember that my life does not belong to me..instead it belongs to God who has a story written for me.



 

Here is one of my favorite songs that talks about trusting God.


Be blessed.


Vanessa Mercedes xo

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page